22/365

Burton Zoom Pack

My first dedicated camera backpack came the other day, which I bought off of the Buy & Sell Forum on Fred Miranda. It’s the Burton Zoom Pack, and I’m really glad I got it because I need a proper and safe way to transport my equipment.

What I like:

  1. It’s dedicated for snowboard photographers – while I am not, I still find many of its features to coincide with my interests. It’s just geared for people who are active….it’s very comfortable, comes with many useful pockets, a tripod holder, and enough miscellaneous storage to store extras like a fleece jacket.
  2. The best thing about this bag is that it’s a prototype, according to the seller. Allegedly, his friend, an employee of Burton, gave it to him while they were considering this bag. They ended up producing the model and it still exists, but they never commercialized this version of the bag.
  3. It doesn’t look like a camera bag. Who actually knew Burton made camera backpacks? I didn’t…until I came across this one. I like the design – it just looks like a typical Burton snowboarding backpack – not a camera one.

What I don’t like:

  1. It’s too large. It ended up being a lot bigger than expected. I have a very minimal setup, and it’s sufficient for what I do. But with all of this empty space, it just makes me want to fill it. Otherwise, I should probably get a smaller bag for my purposes.
  2. Didn’t have a computer compartment. I found a quick solution, however. On the front, there are two zippers, each for it’s own pocket. I cut the divider between the two so now, there’s one continuous compartment from the top to the bottom of the bag on the front. All I have to do is open the horizontal zipper, and my 14″ laptop snugly fits.

Conclusion: I am going to keep the bag for sure. For now, it will be my primary bag but I really think I need to minimize for my project 365. I will probably purchase a smaller one, but nevertheless, this bag is going to stay with me due to its feature and potential to store equipment that I acquire later on.

Didn’t mean to write so much, but I guess it’s a mini-review. Maybe a teaser for what’s to come because I really want to write reviews for a few items I own. I admit, I am a gear junkie.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Comment

